Mount Mercy News
News Photo
Men's Basketball - Fri, Mar. 15, 2013

POINT LOOKOUT, Mo. -- For the first time in school history, Mount Mercy men's basketball teammates have been named to NAIA all-America teams, the NAIA All-America committee announced on Wednesday.

Senior forward Chad Underwood landed on the 2013 NAIA Division II third team. He was third in the Midwest Collegiate Conference in scoring (16.9 ppg) while shooting a league-best 57.4 percent from the field and 46.3 percent from 3-point range. Underwood wrapped up a four-year career as the second-leading scorer in school history with 1,780 points.

Wall, like Underwood a first-team all-MCC pick, was second on the team and fifth in the MCC in scoring at 16.5 points per game. His 80.9 percent from the foul line was third in the conference and he was ninth in 3-point field goal percentage (37.3%). The Mustangs finished 27-6 and made their second appearance at the NAIA Division II national tournament.

2013 NAIA Division II Men's Basketball Honors:

Player of the Year: Ra'Shad James, Northwood (Fla.)

NAIA Division II First Team:
Ra'Shad James, Northwood (Fla.); Darren Moore, Cardinal Stritch (Wis.); Brandon Beasley, William Penn; Keith Steffeck, William Penn; Stephen Harris, Warner Pacific (Ore.); Bruce Grimm Jr., Grace (Ind.); Patrick Hopkins, Indiana Wesleyan; Ben Miller, Northwestern; Thaddeus Varmall, York (Neb.); James Parrott, Midland (Neb.).

NAIA Division II Second Team:
Brad Karp, Saint Xavier (Ill.); Derek Semenas, Cardinal Stritch (Wis.); Mark Hoge, Jamestown (N.D.); Cameron Mitchell, Indiana Southeast; Sekani Milligen, Valley City State (N.D.); Jordan Weidner, Indiana Wesleyan; Trevor Wolterstorff, Dordt; Bobby Naubert, Madonna (Mich.); Tyrone Davis, Northwood (Fla.); Mike Wiebe, College of the Ozarks (Mo.).

NAIA Division II Third Team:
E'Jay Ward, Tennessee Wesleyan; Aki Chambers, UC Merced; Scott Kohne, Saint Francis (Ind.); Shane Merryman, Huntington (Ind.); Jordan Wilcox, Saint Mary (Neb.); Adam Herman, Concordia (Ore.); Brady Lollman, Hastings (Neb.); Chad Underwood, Mount Mercy; Dramell Hogan, Rochester (Mich.); Brian Pace, Webber International (Fla.).

NAIA Division II Honorable Mention:
Greg Miller, Grace (Ind.); Chris Bellamy, Spring Arbor (Mich.); Casey Coons, Taylor (Ind.); Jordan Bowerman, Bethel (Ind.); Jake Shipley, Briar Cliff; Danny Rudeen, Morningside; Daniel Van Kalsbeek, Northwestern; Cliff Warner, Dordt; Jalen Voss, Dakota Wesleyan (S.D.); Nick Reed, Doane (Neb.); Kiel Lewis, Ave Maria (Fla.); DeForest Carter, Embry-Riddle (Fla.); Mark St. Fort, Warner (Fla.); DeMOnte Simpson, St. Thomas (Fla.); Anthony Brown, Eastern Oregon; Michael Greene, Northwest (Wash.); Eric Thompson, Southern Oregon; David Sturner, Southern Oregon; Lamar Wall, Mount Mercy; Devin Harris, Oklahoma Wesleyan; Christopher Jones, Central Christian (Kan.); Nathan Simniok, College of the Ozarks (Mo.); Jamil Goodwin, Bellevue (Neb.); Wes Hudson, Cornerstone (Mich.); JaVontae Ford, Davenport (Mich.); Derrick Tate, Northwest Ohio; Dominez Burnett, Davenport (Mich.); Ryan Chippeaux, Tabor (Kan.); Raheem Odomes, Sterling (Kan.); Canon Fields, Kansas Wesleyan; Cameron Clark, Southwestern (Kan.); Chris Miller, St. Francis (Ill.); Roosevelt Green, Saint Xavier (Ill.); Marcus Issac, Indiana East; Adam Delph, Asbury (Ky.); Jake Simpson, Indiana Southeast; Tim Mitchell, Point (Ga.); Joshua Hart, Virginia Intermont; Desmond Crisp, Tennessee Wesleyan; Drew Maynard, Rochester (Mich.); Luke Lamb, Dakota State (S.D.).