Mount Mercy News
News Photo
Men's Soccer - Tue, Nov. 12, 2013

OSKALOOSA, Iowa -- For the second year in a row, Mount Mercy had a school-record six players named to the 2013 Midwest Collegiate Conference all-conference teams, the league announced on Monday.

Senior defender Peter Bell, one of the top defenders in the MCC again this fall, was a first-team selection for the second consecutive season. Senior forward Josip Druzijanic and freshman midfielder Milan Kovacs joined Bell on the first team. Druzijanic was a three-time MCC Offensive Player of the Week and was the NAIA National Offensive Player of the Week in October. He shared the league lead with 17 goals, which also ranked 13th in the NAIA.

In addition to first-team honors, Kovacs was named the MCC Newcomer of the Year after finishing with four goals and four assists. "I am so happy and excited for Milan," said Head Coach Amir Hadzic. "He is one of our best, if not the best, player we had this year. Even though he is a true freshman, Milan possesses great speed, amazing ball skills, great passing abilities and can find solutions in tight spaces. We are so excited to see Milan's progress in years to come."

Another one of Mount Mercy's top defenders, junior Milos Draca, earned all-MCC honorable mention. So did freshman forward Marco Fichtner and senior forward Robert MacGillivray. Fichtner was second on the squad with seven goals and four assists, while MacGillivray scored twice and had a team-high six assists.


2013 MCC Men's Soccer Awards:

MCC Player of the Year: Jonny Macadam (Grand View)
MCC Newcomer of the Year: Milan Kovacs (Mount Mercy)
MCC Coach of the Year: Blair Reid (Grand View)

All-MCC First Team (by school):
Jack Andrews, Tommy Catania, Darren Marcello, Adis Mujic (AIB); Jared Perez (Clarke); Ross Alexander, Erik Hundevad, Jonny Macadam, David Macsicza, Gustavo Soares de Souza (Grand View); Peter Bell, Josip Druzijanic, Milan Kovacs (Mount Mercy); Charlie MacInnes (St. Ambrose).

All-MCC Honorable Mention:
Nick Poulter, Hasib Stitkovac (AIB); Ryan McGowan, Aaron Scott (Grand View); Milos Draca, Marco Fichtner, Robert MacGillivray (Mount Mercy); Ross Hendry, Rob Prior, Nick Stackhouse, Kyle Williams (St. Ambrose); Luke Newton, Jordan Penn (Viterbo); Angelo Kelly (William Penn).