Mount Mercy News
Mount Mercy - Thu, Jul. 17, 2014

CEDAR RAPIDS, Iowa -- The Mount Mercy athletic department had another successful year on the field of play and in the classroom, counting nine NAIA Scholar-Teams, 19 NAIA Scholar-Athletes and 99 academic all-Midwest Collegiate Conference honorees.

For a team to be considered for the NAIA Scholar-Team award, it must have a minimum 3.0 grade point average on a 4.0 scale as defined by the institution. The team grade point average includes all eligible varsity student-athletes. The nine Mount Mercy teams to make the grade were men's cross country, men's track & field, softball, volleyball, women's basketball, women's cross country, women's track & field, women's golf and women's soccer.

In order to be nominated for the NAIA Scholar-Athlete award, a student-athlete must maintain a minimum grade point average of 3.5 on a 4.0 scale and must have achieved a junior academic status. The 19 Mustangs honored this year were Veselin Karagyuarov and Aaron Lacy (men's soccer); Jerica Christensen, Taylor Eaker, Lauren Hoth and Nicole Morrow (women's soccer); Deanna Knustrom, Kara Oakley and Kate Till (volleyball); Tyler Hartley and Andre Moodie (men's cross country); Wendi Dunn and Mackenzie Holladay (women's cross country); Madison Goodfellow (women's golf); Paige Last and Carrie Wood (women's basketball); Tyler Hartley (men's track & field); and Kayla Hanson and Mackenzie Holladay (women's track & field).

At the conference level, honorees must have completed at least two consecutive terms at their current institution, carry a minimum 3.2 grade point average and play in at least one varsity competition. Below is a sport-by-sport list of Mount Mercy's academic all-conference award winners.

Men's Soccer:
Josip Druzijanic, Marco Fichtner, Veselin Karagyuarov, Filip Kovacevic, Milan Kovacs, Aaron Lacy, Monueir Moodie and Jordan Torquato.

Women's Soccer:
Gina Bisanti, Jerica Christensen, Taylor Eaker, Jessica Glasgow, Lauren Hoth, Megan Konchar, Nicole Morrow and Maria Welborn.

Leslie Hoffmann, Deanna Knustrom, Kara Oakley, Abbie Perez and Kate Till.

Men's Cross Country:
Evan Bowman, Eric Hansen, Tyler Hartley and TJ Mosbach.

Women's Cross Country:
Anne Bruno, Wendi Dunn, Dana Ewan, Kelsey Feldman, Katie Hoffert, Mackenzie Holladay, Abby Martin, Liz Mosbach, Eveline Niyokwizigigwa and Allison Scott.

Men's Golf:
Ryan Schrimper and Jacob Selander.

Women's Golf:
Madison Goodfellow, Kelsey Kernan, Meg Monson and Paige Wenger.

Men's Bowling:
Brent Classen, Jeremy Cline, Sean McCallum, Jeff McCann, Ryan Miller, Darren Stanley, Cody Taylor, Bryan Tippett and Robert Wyant.

Women's Bowling:
Beverly Ambrosy, Anna Bohr, Hannah Dolezal, Breanna Fecht, Naomi Fisher, Tess Friason, Alicia Hartley, Abbey Konzen, Valerie Loudenback, Audrey Manternach, Katlynn Palmer, Nicole Petersen and Elizabeth Wareham.

Women's Basketball:
Kristi Feldman, Abby Herb, Paige Last, Callan Timms, Carrie Wood and Makenzie Zeitler.

Men's Track & Field:
Even Bowman, Eric Hansen, Tyler Hartley, Monueir Moodie, TJ Mosbach, Seth Pennock, Bradley Phillips and Nathan Stern.

Women's Track & Field:
Anne Bruno, Dana Ewan, Abby Martin, Megan Miller, Liz Mosbach, Eveline Niyokwizigigwa, Nicole Sanborn, Allison Scott and Taylor Zumbach.

Max Barrett.

Virginia Brust, Carson Burgart, Kira Dailey, Alexis Ferguson, Amanda Gaffey, Hannah Petersen, LJ Putzier, Erica Soppe, Brianna Sturtz, Dana Suiter and Maddi Vaske.