Athletic Affiliations

NAIA logoMount Mercy is a member of the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) and the Midwest Collegiate Conference (MCC). The NAIA has 50,000 student-athletes participating at nearly 300 member colleges and universities throughout the United States and Canada, and offers 23 championships in 13 sports.

The Midwest Collegiate Conference began as a basketball conference prior to the 1988-89 season. By the time the 1988 school year began, women's volleyball and men's soccer were also recognized as conference sports, providing the league with two male and two female sports. The conference was founded and remains affiliated with the NAIA.

The six original members of the league, which called itself the Midwest Catholic Conference, were Clarke College (I
owa), Edgewood College (Wis.), Marycrest University (Iowa), Mount Mercy College (Iowa), Mount St. Clare College (Iowa) and Viterbo College (Wis.). In 1989, Grand View College (Iowa) replaced Edgewood and the league changed its name to the Midwest Classic Conference.

The St. Ambrose University (Iowa) men's basketball program joined the conference in 1990, while the rest of the university's sports followed suit a year later. Iowa Wesleyan College came on board in 1995, giving the MCC eight members. However, a year later Clarke dropped out to join the NCAA Division III Northern Illinois and Iowa Conference. In 2001, William Penn University (Iowa) was added to the conference, but again an eight-team league was short-lived when Marycrest shut its doors at the end of the 2001-02 season.
MCC logo

Waldorf College came on board in 2003-04 and Clarke rejoined the NAIA and MCC in 2007-08, the same year the league was renamed the Midwest Collegiate Conference. The league grew to 10 teams with the addition of AIB in 2011-12, but is currently back to seven schools after the departure of Ashford University (former The Franciscan University or Mount St. Clare), Waldorf and Iowa Wesleyan in 2012. The current lineup includes original members Clarke, Mount Mercy and Viterbo, along with AIB, Grand View, St. Ambrose and William Penn.