2012 Men's Cross Country
Ryan Scheckel
Ryan Scheckel Image
Ryan Scheckel
Head Coach
12th Season

Scheckel, a certified Level II United States Track & Field Coach, has produced outstanding results since taking over Mount Mercy's cross country program prior to the 2001-02 season.

He was the NAIA Region VII Women's Cross Country Coach of the Year in 2001 after guiding the Mustangs to the regional championship and a berth in the NAIA national meet. In the fall of 2003, Scheckel was the Midwest Classic Conference Men's and Women's Cross Country Coach of the Year after leading both squads to MCC titles -- the first ever for the Mustang men. He claimed the women's coach of the year award again in 2006, 2007, 2008, and 2009 when Mount Mercy won the fifth, sixth, seventh, and eighth MCC women's titles in school history. Scheckel was the MCC Men's Coach of the Year again in 2010 and 2011 after leading the Mustangs to their second and third league championships.

As the men's and women's track & field coach from 2001-2010, Scheckel led the women's squad to five straight MCC outdoor championships (2004-08). He was named MCC Women's Track & Field Coach of the Year in each of those seasons, as well as in 2010 when the Mustangs were runner-up in the MCC.

Over the past 10 years, the Mustang cross country programs have had 17 individual NAIA national meet qualifiers, while the track & field squads have had 48 athletes compete at NAIA national meets. During that time, the cross country and track & field programs have also counted 31 NAIA Scholar-Athletes. In 2010, the Mustang men's and women's cross country and men's and women's track & field teams were all named NAIA Scholar Teams.

Prior to coaching at Mount Mercy, Scheckel was a member of the Mustang men's cross country and track & field teams. A two-year captain and MVP of the men's track & field team, he set six school records and was a two-time NAIA indoor track & field national meet qualifier. Scheckel was also the Most Valuable Performer of the 2001 MCC Outdoor Track & Field Championships after winning four titles at the annual conference meet.

#NameCl.Pos.Ht.Wt.HometownPrevious School
Bryce AlthoffSR   Farley, IowaCascade H.S.
David CarbajalSR   Marshalltown, IowaMarshalltown H.S./Iowa
Ian DarlandFR   Cedar Falls, IowaDike-New Hartford H.S.
Tyler HartleySO   Muscatine, IowaWilton H.S.
Mitch JohnsonJR   Cedar Rapids, IowaC.R. Prairie H.S.
Juan MaffeyJR   Buenos Aires, Argentina
Andre MoodieJR   Kingston, JamaicaCollege of the Redwoods
TJ MosbachJR   Ladd, Ill.Hall H.S.
Bryant RaderSR   Cedar Rapids, IowaIowa Western C.C.
Erik RyanFR   Knoxville, IowaKnoxville H.S.
Louis SughroueSO   Marengo, IowaHLV H.S.
Keith TerrySR   Cedar Rapids, IowaC.R. Jefferson H.S.
Ryan Scheckel - Head Coach - 12th season
Jamie Jimison - Assistant Coach - 3rd season
Jakob Lantz - Manager - 1st season
Sport Links