2013 Softball
Record: 27-18 Home: 8-2 Away: 6-6 Neutral: 13-10 MCC: 14-6
Glenn Johnson
Glenn Johnson Image
Glenn Johnson
Assistant Coach
7th Season

Johnson and Larry Yoder took over the Mustang softball program in the fall of 2006 and were co-head coaches from 2010-12. They were named the 2010 Midwest Collegiate Conference Coach of the Year after leading Mount Mercy to the MCC regular season and tournament championships. The Mustangs also earned their first NAIA national tournament berth since 1990. The 37 wins were the second most in school history, just shy of the 39 victories by the Mustangs in 1996.

Under Johnson and Yoder, the Mustangs have rewritten the offensive record book. They've set single-season school records for slugging percentage, total bases, doubles, home runs, and stolen bases. Defensively, the 2010 squad held opponents to the lowest batting average in school history and broke the strikeout and shut out records.

Johnson has been president of the Cedar Rapids Girls' Fastpitch Softball Association since 1990 and has also coached a girls' ASA traveling softball team, the Cedar Rapids Blue Devils, for 17 years. He has been a member of the National Fastpitch Coaches Association (NFCA) for 16 years, holding a Three-Star Master Coach Certification from the NFCA. Johnson, a patent lawyer with Nyemaster, Goode, West, Hansell & O'Brien, graduated from Northern Colorado in 1973 and earned a J.D. from Iowa in 1975.

#NameCl.Pos.B/THt.HometownPrevious School
1Brianna SturtzFR2B/SSL/R5-4Iowa City, IowaIowa City West H.S.
3Hannah PetersenFRP/OFL/L5-5Cedar Rapids, IowaC.R. Jefferson H.S.
4Erica SoppeJROFL/R5-5Jesup, IowaJesup H.S.
5Brooklyn SchraderSRSSR/R5-5Mount Pleasant, IowaMount Pleasant H.S.
6Whitney MatlackFRC/OFL/L5-7Cedar Falls, IowaDenver H.S.
7Alexis FergusonFRC/OFL/R5-7Oskaloosa, IowaMontezuma H.S.
8Carson BurgartFRC/SS/2BR/R5-7Cedar Rapids, IowaC.R. Jefferson H.S.
9Sarah HillSRCR/R5-7Shellsburg, IowaVinton-Shellsburg H.S.
12Kira DaileyFROFR/R5-5Iowa City, IowaCity High
14Maddi VaskeFR3B/1BR/R5-9Dyersville, IowaBeckman H.S.
15Jacki CiranSR3BR/R5-6Addison, Ill.Addison Trail H.S./DuPage C.C.
17Amanda GaffeyFR1B/3BR/R5-9Cedar Rapids, IowaC.R. Kennedy H.S.
20LJ PutzierFROFR/R5-5Des Moines, IowaDes Moines East H.S.
22Kerry HerlihyJR2B/SSL/R5-2Chino, Calif.Lugo H.S.
23Morgan SicklesFRC/OFR/R5-6Urbana, IowaCenter Point-Urbana H.S.
24Kaitlin YoderJR1BR/R5-5Mundelein, Ill.Mundelein H.S.
28Tori NimmoFRP/2BR/R5-0Morton, Ill.Morton H.S.
29Leah HarrisFRPR/R5-6Urbandale, IowaDes Moines Christian H.S.
31Virginia BrustFRP/1B/OFL/L5-6Rochester, Minn.Mayo H.S.
33McKenna SextonFRUTR/R5-7West Branch, IowaWest Branch H.S.
34Liz MooreFRPR/R5-10Pleasantville, IowaPleasantville H.S.
35Catie FlaucherJRPR/R5-7Independence, IowaIndependence H.S./Kirkwood C.C.
Larry Yoder - Head Coach - 7th season
Glenn Johnson - Assistant Coach - 7th season
John Olachnovitch - Assistant Coach - 7th season
Blake Tiedtke - Strength & Conditioning Coach - 7th season
Brianna Williams - Assistant Coach - 1st season
Sport Links