2013 Softball
Record: 27-18 Home: 8-2 Away: 6-6 Neutral: 13-10 MCC: 14-6
Larry Yoder
Larry Yoder Image
Larry Yoder
Head Coach
7th Season


Overall record: 117-72 (thru 2013)

Yoder became the first full-time head softball coach in school history prior to the 2012-13 season. He and Glenn Johnson were co-head coaches from 2010-12. Yoder and Johnson took over the Mustang softball program in the fall of 2006, and were named the 2010 Midwest Collegiate Conference Coach of the Year after leading Mount Mercy to the MCC regular season and tournament championships. The Mustangs also earned their first NAIA national tournament berth since 1990. The 37 wins were the second most wins in school history, just shy of the 39 victories by the Mustangs in 1996.

Under Yoder and Johnson, the Mustangs have rewritten the offensive record book. They've set single-season school records for slugging percentage, total bases, doubles, home runs, and stolen bases. Defensively, the 2010 squad held opponents to the lowest batting average in school history and broke the strikeout and shut out records.

Yoder graduated from Iowa Wesleyan College with a Bachelor of Arts degree in education. He played baseball throughout college, leading the Tigers in home runs during the 1983 and 1984 seasons. Yoder is Vice President of the Cedar Rapids Fastpitch Softball Association and has coached fastpitch softball for 12 years. He is a member of the National Fastpitch Coaches Association (NFCA) and holds a Four-Star Master Coach Certification from the NFCA.

#NameCl.Pos.B/THt.HometownPrevious School
1Brianna SturtzFR2B/SSL/R5-4Iowa City, IowaIowa City West H.S.
3Hannah PetersenFRP/OFL/L5-5Cedar Rapids, IowaC.R. Jefferson H.S.
4Erica SoppeJROFL/R5-5Jesup, IowaJesup H.S.
5Brooklyn SchraderSRSSR/R5-5Mount Pleasant, IowaMount Pleasant H.S.
6Whitney MatlackFRC/OFL/L5-7Cedar Falls, IowaDenver H.S.
7Alexis FergusonFRC/OFL/R5-7Oskaloosa, IowaMontezuma H.S.
8Carson BurgartFRC/SS/2BR/R5-7Cedar Rapids, IowaC.R. Jefferson H.S.
9Sarah HillSRCR/R5-7Shellsburg, IowaVinton-Shellsburg H.S.
12Kira DaileyFROFR/R5-5Iowa City, IowaCity High
14Maddi VaskeFR3B/1BR/R5-9Dyersville, IowaBeckman H.S.
15Jacki CiranSR3BR/R5-6Addison, Ill.Addison Trail H.S./DuPage C.C.
17Amanda GaffeyFR1B/3BR/R5-9Cedar Rapids, IowaC.R. Kennedy H.S.
20LJ PutzierFROFR/R5-5Des Moines, IowaDes Moines East H.S.
22Kerry HerlihyJR2B/SSL/R5-2Chino, Calif.Lugo H.S.
23Morgan SicklesFRC/OFR/R5-6Urbana, IowaCenter Point-Urbana H.S.
24Kaitlin YoderJR1BR/R5-5Mundelein, Ill.Mundelein H.S.
28Tori NimmoFRP/2BR/R5-0Morton, Ill.Morton H.S.
29Leah HarrisFRPR/R5-6Urbandale, IowaDes Moines Christian H.S.
31Virginia BrustFRP/1B/OFL/L5-6Rochester, Minn.Mayo H.S.
33McKenna SextonFRUTR/R5-7West Branch, IowaWest Branch H.S.
34Liz MooreFRPR/R5-10Pleasantville, IowaPleasantville H.S.
35Catie FlaucherJRPR/R5-7Independence, IowaIndependence H.S./Kirkwood C.C.
Larry Yoder - Head Coach - 7th season
Glenn Johnson - Assistant Coach - 7th season
John Olachnovitch - Assistant Coach - 7th season
Blake Tiedtke - Strength & Conditioning Coach - 7th season
Brianna Williams - Assistant Coach - 1st season
Sport Links